Ommegang Fever

When John and I went on our cross country road trip this past June I finally found it: The Perfect Beer.
But let’s back up shall we?
I’m not a big drinker so when I enjoy a beer it’s gotta be a damn fine one. Despite not being huge booze fans, John and I are big fans of breweries and the beer making process. We’ve been on breweries tours all across the US. And this June I found my favorite one: the Ommegang Brewery in Cooperstown, NY.
So pretty, right?
Ommegang pride themselves on brewing their beers in the classic Belgian style with earthy and exotic spices. On the tour we tried five different kinds of Ommegang beers but my favorite was the Rare Vos. Spicy but slightly sweet, a smidge bitter, no aftertaste, summery, pairs well with comfort food – the perfect match!
We loved the brewery, the people, and the beers so much we went a little crazy with the merch we brought home (magnets, hoodies, etc):
Cut to last week, I’m in Downtown Wines & Spirits in Davis Square picking up champagne to celebrate with the girls the night before Rachel’s wedding. I was just perusing the beer section too when I see that they have Ommegang! They have the Rare Vos! GASP! So naturally I bought myself some for a fridge stash.
After a long day today I was ready to go home and eat a brie and pickle smothered turkey burger. And I remembered the Rare Vos. What an excellent way to end the day.
(That last picture is pretty obnoxious: new favorite beer discovered at the Ommegang brewery tour, Magic Hat glass from their brewery tour, and Harpoon church key from their tour. Yikes.)
About Kim

I'm a lady who enjoys photography, football, cooking, long drives with the windows down, the Food Network, This American Life, cereal, going to shows, scarves, kettlecorn, Gwen Stefani, yoga, my nephews, my cat Reggie, and my home: Boston.
This entry was posted in Things I Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ommegang Fever

  1. Mia says:

    Sounds delicious! Nothing better than a great sandwich and a tasty brew.

Leave a Reply

